Changing and Deleting Invoices

Once an Invoice has been produced, if you need to change any of its contents, the invoice needs to be deleted.

To delete an invoice, navigate to the patient’s account page and click on the bin icon of the invoice you would like to delete.

Invoices can only be deleted when the invoice isn’t locked and invoices can only be deleted by Administrators (permission level 4).

When an Invoice is Locked

If the invoice has a padlock next it instead of a bin, it is locked. An invoice will be locked if it meets one or more of the following criteria:

  • Has any payments associated with it.
  • The course of treatment that generated the invoice has been completed.

When there are payments against an Invoice

If there are payments associated with it, the invoice will either have a green tick and say that the invoice is ‘Paid’, or the amount due will not match the invoice total. There will be payments in the lower section of the screen with the Invoice number in the Summary section of the payment details.

Invoice Detail

The link between the payment and the invoice needs to be removed. You can do this by clicking on the bin icon by the green tick on the payment. This will remove the tick and the payment will be unexplained. Once the invoice has been re-created, you can explain the payment against it as before.

Payment Detail

When there are items on the Invoice on Completed Treatment Plans

If the treatments on the invoice are on completed treatment plans, you need to re-open these plans. You can do this from the History tab in the Chart screen. Find the treatment lines mentioned in the invoice and click the TP to the left of the line.

Reopening Treatment Plans

Once the treatment plan is displayed, click the Re-Open Treatment Plan button.

Reopening Treatment Plan button

Once the invoice has no associated payments and all of its contents are on open treatment plans, it will be unlocked.